THE FINAL COUNTDOWN: Today Is The Last Day To Stop The Merger Of Comcast & Time-Warner


Today is the deadline for final public comments to the FCC regarding the proposed merger of Comcast and Time Warner. This merger would concentrate a majority share of cable customers in the hands one company — a company that The Consumerist ranked THE WORST COMPANY IN AMERICA IN 2014, decisively beating out Monsanto. We’ve never been shy about where we stand on this merger, and you are welcome to go HERE to read previous posts condemning both Comcast’s proposed merger with Time Warner as well as the Comcast’s status as THE MOST CRUELLY EFFECTIVE CONSUMER RAPISTS IN THE FREE WORLD!

BUSINESS INSIDER: In addition to being the largest cable provider in the U.S. with 23 million subscribers, Comcast owns a huge number of media and entertainment properties, especially since it completely acquired NBC Universal from GE in 2011. Time Warner Cable is the second-largest cable provider in the U.S. and has a few media properties, though since 2009 it has been distinct from the major media company Time Warner Inc. For a complete list of everything Comcast owns now, we turn to Columbia Journalism Review‘s excellent Who Owns What resource. MORE

Here’s everything Comcast currently owns:


NBC Television Network
NBC Entertainment
NBC News
NBC Sport Group
Universal Television (UTV)
Universal Cable Productions
NBC Universal Domestic Television Distribution
NBCUniversal International Television Distribution

NBC Local Media Division
NBC New York (WNBC)
NBC Los Angeles (KNBC)
NBC Chicago (WMAQ)
NBC Philadelphia (WCAU)
NBC Bay Area (KNTV)
NBC Dallas/Fort Worth (KXAS)
NBC Washington (WRC)
NBC Miami (WTVJ)
NBC San Diego (KNSD)
NBC Connecticut (WVIT)
NBC Everywhere
Skycastle Entertainment

KVEA (Los Angeles)
WNJU (New York)
WSCV (Miami)
KTMD (Houston)
WSNS (Chicago)
KXTX (Dallas/Fort Worth)
KVDA (San Antonio)
KSTS (San Francisco/San Jose)
KTAZ (Phoenix)
KNSO (Fresno)
KDEN (Denver)
KBLR (Las Vegas)
WNEU (Boston/Merrimack)
KHRR (Tucson)
WKAQ (Puerto Rico)
KWHY (Los Angeles) (Independent)

Television Channels
CNBC World
Comcast Charter Sports Southeast
Comcast Sports Group
Comcast SportsNet Bay Area
Comcast SportsNet California
Comcast SportsNet Chicago
Comcast SportsNet Houston
Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic
Comcast SportsNet New England
Comcast SportsNet Northwest
Comcast SportsNet Philadelhpia
The Mtn.-Mountain West Sports Network
Comcast Sports Southwest
New England Cable News (Manages)
NBC Sports Network
The Comcast Network
E! Entertainment Television
Golf Channel
Oxygen Media
The Style Network
Universal HD
USA Network
The Weather Channel Companies
Syfy Universal (Universal Networks International)
Diva Universal (Universal Networks International)
Studio Universal (Universal Networks International)
Universal Channel (Universal Networks International)
13th Street Universal (Universal Networks International)
Movies 24 (Universal Networks International)
Hallmark Channel (non-U.S.) (Universal Networks International)
KidsCo (Interest) (Universal Networks International)

Universal Pictures
Focus Features
Universal Studios Home Entertainment

Parks and Resorts
Universal Parks and Resorts

Digital Media
Hulu (32%)
CNBC Digital

XFINITY Internet

Sports Management
Philadelphia Flyers
Wells Fargo Center
Global Spectrum (Public Assembly Management)
Ovations Food Services
Front Row Marketing Services
New Era Tickets (ComcastTIX)
Flyers Skate Zone

Comcast Ventures, which is invested in numerous companies.

And now onto Time Warner Cable:

Local channels
Time Warner Cable News

Regional Sports Networks
Metro Sports
Time Warner Cable Sports
Time Warner Cable SportsNet
Time Warner Cable Deportes
TWC Sports 32

Adelphia — cable television company in PA
NaviSite — cloud and hosting services company
Insight Communications — cable operator
DukeNet Communications —Fiber optic network
Time Warner Cable Internet
Time Warner Cable Media (advertising)

Here are all of the cable regions Comcast will now acquire:

  • West Coast

California – Barstow, Desert Cities, Los Angeles, (north) San Diego, San Bernardino
Hawaii (Operating as Oceanic Time Warner Cable)

  • Midwest

Kansas – Kansas City
Missouri – Kansas City
Ohio – Akron, Canton, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Findlay/Lima, and Youngstown Kentucky – Lexington, Louisville, Northern Kentucky, Ashland
Pennsylvania – Erie County, Sharon
Wisconsin – Green Bay and Milwaukee

  • Northeast

New Hampshire – Berlin, Keene
Massachusetts – Athol, Pittsfield
Upstate New York

  • New York Cluster

New Jersey – Bergen County, Hudson County
New York – New York City (Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, most of western Brooklyn), Mount Vernon (Westchester County, rest of county is Cablevision)

  • The Carolinas Cluster

North Carolina – Charlotte, Raleigh, Greensboro, and Wilmington
South Carolina – Columbia, Sumter, Florence, Summerville, Hilton Head and Myrtle Beach.

  • Texas Cluster

Texas – Arlington, Austin, Beaumont/Port Arthur, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Harlingen, Killeen/Temple, Laredo, Rio Grande Valley, San Antonio, Waco, and Wichita Falls

  • National

Alabama – Dothan, Enterprise
Arizona – Yuma
California – El Centro
Colorado – Gunnison, Telluride
Idaho – Coeur d’Alene, Moscow
Indiana – Terre Haute
Washington – Pullman

  • South West Ohio Division West Virginia – Clarksburg